Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) Endorses Zoning Lists Conditions

The Electoral Committee of the Nigerian Bar Association (ECNBA) appointed to conduct the Election, has approved the zoning of offices in the forthcoming NBA Election in July 2022.

Ayodele Akintunde SAN, ECNBA Chairman

In a joint statement signed by Ayodele Akintunde SAN the Chairman and Mabel Ekeke, the Secretary of the ECNBA, the NBA Presidential contest is zoned to the North while General Secretary is zoned to the West.

North and West going by NBA Constitution are inclusive of the states that are birthed from 1963 political map of Nigeria. North is that behemoth while West is inclusive of Edo and Delta (Mid-West)

The States comprised in the respective geographical zones specified in Part IV (5) (a) (b) & (c), Second Schedule of the Constitution are as follows:

Northern Zone: Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara and Abuja;

Eastern Zone: Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Enugu, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Cross River, Imo, and Rivers;

Western Zone: Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, and Oyo.

Other posts that are also distributed according to zones are the 3 Vice President positions, with the First Vice, coming from the same zone with the president.

So far, the grape vine and bush telegrams, have been awash that Y.C.Maikyau SAN (Kebbi State), J.K.Gadzama SAN(Borno state) and J.G Taidi, Esq (Niger state) are interested to contest for the apex position in NBA.

Y.C.Maikyau, SAN

According to the statement, to be eligible to contest for NBA president 2022, the aspirant must; be a full member of the Association in private legal practice; with not less than 15 years post-call and not less than 2 years as a member of the National Executive Council (previously known as the National Executive Committee) (“NEC”) at the time of nomination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *