FCTEC Establishes 6 Regional Development Centres

The Federal Capital Territory FCT Executive Committee (FCTEC) at its 10th meeting, held in Gwarinpa, approved the establishment of ‘FCT Regional Development Offices’ in the six Area Councils.

The Director Information and Communication in the FCT Administration, Muhammad Hazat Sule made this known to newsmen after the meeting. According to Sule, these regional offices are to monitor and safeguard the sanctity of the Abuja Master Plan and ensure sanity in the development of satellite towns in the territory.

The Regional Offices are to work and liaise with their Head Offices in the City.

The FCT Administration insisted that it will not fold its arms to allow the springing up of squatter communities.
The statement in part reads, “The entire land within the 8,000 square kilometers of the Federal Capital Territory, whether urban or regional are planned and developments in these areas will have to be in line with the physical planning as envisioned by the founding fathers of Abuja”

The new body is expected to monitor all physical developments in their Area Council and make sure they conform to Planning Regulations as contained in the Regional Master Plan of Abuja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *